• tengu12
  • tengu12's Avatar Topic Author
  • Gold Boarder
  • Gold Boarder
More
18 years 10 months ago - 18 years 10 months ago #125313 by tengu12
Tree Climbing at the World Expo 2005 was created by tengu12
Konichiwa (Hello in Japanese)
As some of you may know Tree Climbing Japan has a strong and respectful treeclimbing community and for them to have an exhibit at the 2005 World Fair is not of much surprise, that was until I arrived in Seto Japan and got to experience it first hand.
I had been traveling the USA for the past 2 months (on a move from Ga. to Oregon) teaching and climbing with some wonderful folks and learning the whole way. I had an awesome climb in a virgin forest in New Jersey where Einstein use to go for deep thought. Another was a magical climb on the "Climbing Hill" located just minutes away from New Tribe in Oregon and other countless but beautiful climbs between the 2 coasts.
But, upon my arrival in Oregon, I got a message from John Gathright (Founder of TCJ) that Tree Climbing at the World Expo is becoming a hugh success and it would be worth my time to come experience it first hand along with the opportunity to help facilitate tree climbing at the "Growing Village".

36 hours later I was on a flight to Nagoya Japan. After a 12hr flight, 1hour train ride, and a 1 hour subway experience I arrived at the Kozoji station to big hugs and warm welcomes from John and his family. After many bows and smiles we headed off to the Miso Barrell Tree House (Johns home in the mtns. of Seto Japan) to swap stories about the past years climbing experiences and where we saw tree climbing in the future.