Why no redundancy in friction savers?

• scottnotbombs
  • scottnotbombs's Avatar Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
10 years 3 months ago #136324 by scottnotbombs
Why no redundancy in friction savers? was created by scottnotbombs
Hi everyone, I'm new to tree climbing and have only been researching for about a week. I think the only question I have is why there is no redundancy when you are using a friction saver as a top anchor? I know the steel or aluminum rings are solid in a friction saver, unlike rap rings which are hollow, but they're also experiencing a lot more friction than a rap ring. Would there be any reason for me not to double up on friction savers if I wanted the added security and peace of mind as a beginner?
Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 3 months ago #136325 by moss
Replied by moss on topic Why no redundancy in friction savers?
The key to managing safety with any life support gear in tree climbing is regular inspection. For example with the two ring friction savers you mention, there is no way you can put enough wear on the rings in one climb to compromise the strength of the rings, or even in a hundred climbs. Nevertheless inspect the webbing and rings before each climb and put your worries to rest. Take a look at the Dan House sleeves sold by New Tribe, waaaay easier to install and remove remotely, much less expensive than ring/ring savers. They are very safe and reliable.

More
10 years 3 months ago #136326 by moss

scottnotbombs wrote: Would there be any reason for me not to double up on friction savers if I wanted the added security and peace of mind as a beginner?